A Catalogue of Everyday Halaal Cooking.

White Rice (for Curries)

Pastas are pretty easy to cook, but rice is a bit more tricky.   I confess, when I got married, I didn’t know how to boil rice. I could never figure out how much of water to use, or if the rice was done. Fortunately I learnt how, but it’s because my mum typed out a step-by-step recipe for me. Rice for dummies. 🙂

WHITE RICE

1 1/2 cups white rice

4 tsp coarse salt

1 cardamom pod

1 cinnamon stick

2 cloves

6 cups of water

 

In a deep pot, bring water to boil.  Add salt and spices. Rinse rice thoroughly, and add to water.

Cook for 10-15 minutes till rice is done. You’ll know the rice is cooked, if when you break a kernel and there is no hard centre.

Drain and rinse with cold water.  Return to pot and sprinkle with 1/4 cup of water. Place in a moderate oven for 30 minutes.

 

Leave a comment